Waste Sector

The waste sector comprises three main sectors:

  • Domestic Wastewater
  • Industrial Wastewater
  • Municipal Solid Waste Disposal

    • The GHG emission estimates reported for the three sub-sectors follow the 2006 IPCC Guidelines for national GHG inventories and have referred to India’s emission inventories reported in NATCOM & BUR. Tier 1 and Tier 2 country-specific and state-level data and coefficients have been used in the emission estimation to the extent possible along with emission factors sourced from the 2006 IPCC Guidelines. Secondary data for municipal solid waste and wastewater has been sourced from published documents and reports of the Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB) and corresponding State Pollution Control Boards (SPCB), the National Environmental Engineering Research Institute (NEERI), various industry departments and associations, National Sample Survey Organization (NSSO), Government of India Census, and the Ministry of Urban Development among others.

      Calendar years are used for the purpose of estimating Waste sector emissions.

      This methodology note is an addendum to the detailed methodology document of the last phase. The methodology note addendum and the detailed methodology document are given at the end of this page. The previous methodology documents are under the ‘Resources tab’.


      Methodology Note-Waste

In collaboration with